Online Luxury Magazine and Shop
Liste d’enviesConnexion

Robert Wan

Stakhanoviste de travail, amoureux des femmes et empereur de la perle, Robert Wan a été pendant des décennies un pionnier dans la culture perlière.

En Polynésie française, Robert Wan est le deuxième personnage le plus célèbre après le président. Un homme qui a commencé avec rien et qui a réussi à construire un empire de ses propres mains. Une paire de mains passionnées qui ont rencontré la bonne personne au bon moment et qui ont travaillé toute leur vie pour que l’entreprise fonctionne et perdure.

Robert Wan, 84 ans, qui est toujours à la tête de l’entreprise mais a nommé son fils Bruno et son petit-fils Richard pour diriger le groupe familial.

Les fermes perlières sont situées à 1700 kilomètres de Tahiti dans les archipels des Gambier. La température du climat, la qualité de l’eau et les conditions actuelles ont permis à Wan de récolter proche de la perfection l’huître perlière connue sous le nom de Pinctada Margarifitera. En implantant ses fermes dans cette partie du Pacifique, les perles de Robert Wan se distinguent par leurs couleurs. Du gris foncé au turquoise, du paon à l’aubergine, Robert Wan parvient ainsi à obtenir les plus belles et les plus grandes perles noires.

L’expérience des perliculteurs combinée à celle de Robert Wan dans son processus de sélection garantit la meilleure qualité. Les connaissances qu’il a pu acquérir au fil des ans l’ont amené à cultiver, récolter et exporter la culture perlière.

Dans les années 70, lorsque Wan a commencé, il a rencontré Mikimoto qui a accepté d’acheter sa première récolte et les suivantes… pour autant que les perles soient conformes aux standards du célèbre bijoutier japonais.

Cela fait plus de 40 ans que Mikimoto fait confiance au travail de Robert Wan. Toutes les perles noires de Mikimoto proviennent de Polynésie française, directement des fermes de Robert Wan.

Robert Wan
Robert Wan
Boat in French Polynesia
Robert Wan
Black Pearls from French Polynesia
Robert Wan
Beach in French Polynesia
Robert Wan
French Polynesia oysters
Robert Wan

Robert Wan

Restez à jour sur les dernières informations de la marque.

Online Luxury Magazine and Store
WishlistLogin / Register

Robert Wan

Work stakhanovist, women lover and pearl emperor, Robert Wan has been for decades a pioneer in the pearl culture.

In French Polynesia, Robert Wan is the second most famous person after the president. A man who started with nothing and managed to build an empire with own hands. A pair of passionate hands who met the right person at the right time, and worked his life to keep his company running and perduring.

Robert Wan, 84, who is still the head of the company but appointed his son Bruno and grandson Richard to manage the family group.

The pearl farms are located 1700 kilometers away from Tahiti in the Gambier archipelagos. The climate temperature, quality of the water and current conditions allowed Wan to harvest close to perfection the pearl oyster known as the Pinctada Margarifitera. By establishing his farms in this part of the Pacific, Robert Wan’s pearls are noticeable for their colors. Ranging from deep grey to turquoise, peacock or aubergine, Robert Wan manages this way to get the most beautiful and largest black pearls.

The experience of pearl farmers combined to the experience of Robert Wan in his selection process guarantee the best quality. The knowledge he was able to acquire over the years led him to cultivate, harvest and export the pearl culture.

Back in the seventies when Wan first started, he met with Mikimoto who agreed to buy his first harvest and the following ones… if the pearls where meeting the famous Japanese jeweler’s standards.

Since a word is a word, it has been over 40 years that Mikimoto has been trusting Robert Wan’s work. All of Mikimoto’s black pearls come from French Polynesia directly from Robert Wan’s farms.

Robert Wan
Robert Wan
Boat in French Polynesia
Robert Wan
Black Pearls from French Polynesia
Robert Wan
Beach in French Polynesia
Robert Wan
French Polynesia oysters
Robert Wan

Robert Wan

Stay updated on the latest coverage about the brand.

Pearls and retail stores – how does it work?

Italo Grignani has been working with Robert Wan for the past eight years. He knows from the back of his hands what clients want to know, what are interrested in, how much do they spend and from where they come…